![]() |
![]() |
|
Click the comments link on any story to see comments or add your own. |
13 Nov 2008
After all the uncomplimentary things I've said about ICANN, in fairness I should acknowledge that they do, finally, seem to have terminated famously sleazy registrar EstDomains, brushing off last ditch attempts by its owner to claim that his conviction for fraud was under appeal and that he wasn't an officer any more. His conviction was nine months ago, and there's well documented evidence of years of involvement in crime ranging from phishing to child porn, but better late than never. I remain interested to see what, if anything, ICANN plans to do about registrar DynamicDolphin, whose owner also has been convicted of a felony. Followup Note: On 24 November, the 281,000 domains registered by EstDomains become available to transfer to any other registrar who wants them. But who'd want a portfolio of domains that are mostly notable for being used for criminal purposes? What if no other registrar wants them? Are they all just deleted? Go into limbo? If they're in limbo, how could a registrant take them out of limbo? Does ICANN have a plan? Stay tuned and in two weeks we'll find out. posted at: 07:36 :: permanent link to this entry :: 1 comments Trackback link is http://weblog.johnlevine.com./ICANN/estdead.trackback 08 Nov 2008
posted at: 19:45 :: permanent link to this entry :: 1 comments Trackback link is http://weblog.johnlevine.com./ICANN/notreg.trackback 11 Oct 2008
posted at: 19:07 :: permanent link to this entry :: 0 comments Trackback link is http://weblog.johnlevine.com./ICANN/chicken.trackback 27 Sep 2008
According to news reports, the governor of Kentucky has filed a suit in state court to seize 141 gambling domain names. His claimed authority is a 1974 law against "gambling devices", on the theory that a domain is a "device", and online gambling is taking money away from in-state horse racing and the lottery. The judge sensibly has said that he doesn't understand all the issues, and has given all sides a week to submit briefs. Two domains, highrollerslounge.com and luckypyramidcasino.com have been reassigned to the state, probably by a registrar who didn't understand the issues either. I have to say that this is a phenomenally bogus case.posted at: 16:58 :: permanent link to this entry :: 0 comments Trackback link is http://weblog.johnlevine.com./ICANN/kygamble.trackback 10 Aug 2008
posted at: 20:52 :: permanent link to this entry :: 2 comments Trackback link is http://weblog.johnlevine.com./ICANN/icannauction.trackback |
Topics
My other sitesOther blogsWord
to the Wise
Related sitesCoalition Against Unsolicited Commercial E-mail
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||
© 2005-2008 John R. Levine.
CAN SPAM address harvesting notice: the operator of this website will
not give, sell, or otherwise transfer addresses maintained by this
website to any other party for the purposes of initiating, or enabling
others to initiate, electronic mail messages.